Navigation

Search This Site

University Holiday Schedule

The following are the officially observed 2018 UVA Academic Division holidays:

Date Holiday
Monday, January 1, 2018 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 15, 2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, March 9, 2018 Spring Break Day
Monday, May 28, 2018 Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4, 2018 Independence Day
Monday, September 3, 2018 Labor Day
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 Day Before Thanksgiving (FULL DAY)
Thursday, November 22, 2018 Thanksgiving
Friday, November 23, 2018 Day After Thanksgiving
Monday, December 24, 2018 Additional Holiday Time
Tuesday, December 25, 2017 Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 Additional Holiday Time
Thursday, December 27, 2018 Additional Holiday Time
Friday, December 28, 2018 Additional Holiday Time
Monday, December 31, 2018 New Year’s Eve

In order to offer as many holiday hours as the Commonwealth, we will also award four hours of comp time for 2017 on Dec. 26, 2016, the start of the new leave year. View a holiday comparison table of the University and Commonwealth schedules.

Special Note Regarding Essential Services

Even with careful scheduling, on certain University holidays, some departments need to be open and should arrange at least limited coverage to provide essential services. For example, most student-related University offices will need to be open on Labor Day because classes are held on that day, and it is expected that your supervisors will arrange for adequate coverage. It is important for all of us to understand how necessary our services are and to work with each other to arrange an equitable schedule from year to year.

When you are asked to work on a holiday, compensatory leave will be awarded. Supervisors should give adequate advance notice to the affected employees for planning purposes.

Your supervisor or department administrators can answer questions about required coverage during other holidays.

Additional Holiday Information

As always, if you wish to take additional leave or use your comp time around the holidays, you will need to have approval in advance from your supervisor. Supervisors are encouraged to be as flexible as possible in granting leave requests, especially during holiday periods.

  • Procedures and eligibility rules for administering holiday leave are posted under the Holiday Schedule Memo.
  • The University of Virginia’s Health System administration will distribute holiday information pertaining to the Medical Center and Clinics.
  • The University of Virginia’s College at Wise has its own information on its holiday schedule.

If you have any questions concerning these holidays please call the HR Service Team at 982.0123 or send an email to AskHR@virginia.edu.